the Cake, the Wolf and the Witch
The Cake, the Wolf and the Witch
Published July 2015. Here's what it's all about.

  • Max doesn't believe in fairy tales. He doesn't believe in happy endings either. So when he and his new brother and sister are whisked away to the Land of Happy Ever After on the day of his dad's wedding, Max is NOT impressed.
  • But the Land of Ever After is in trouble - and they need Max's help. Can Max be persuaded to go on a quest to save the fairy tale characters? And if he doesn't, how will they ever get home?
  • A magical mixed-up fairy tale adventure, perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's The Magic Faraway Tree.

Reviews:
Joyously original....endlessly inventive
Piers Torday (author of The Last Wild trilogy)


Through all the fantasticalness of the story, the character of Max and his step-siblings remain very much grounded in reality, and this makes this book a complete winner. With illustrations by the wonderful Tony Ross (of Horrid Henry fame), this is the summer’s must-read for children aged 7+
Minerva Reads Book of the Week  Full review here


Fast paced funny and touching...It's a story that is both funny and exciting, and it'll make you think, too, without being in any way sappy. Make sure you don't miss it.
***** The Book Bag



Delighted by #TheCakeTheWolfTheWitch, #Sondheim for 7+. A magical quest with heart and spark.
Children's book reviewer, Amanda Craig on Twitter


funny, moving and inventive...with a great cast of characters. A joy from start to finish
Peters Books and Furniture


I loved this book as soon as I started reading it and it only got better as I followed Max on his quest to rescue Wild. I read its 234 pages in only three sittings (it would have been less if real life hadn’t got in the way!) so gripped was I by the confident and funny writing. The plot isn’t new, an unlikely and unwilling hero given an unwelcome quest, fairy tale characters appearing in a make believe land, a wicked witch to be defeated before happiness is restored blah, blah BUT… and it is a BIG but, despite knowing all that, I LOVED this book. It is told so well and deals lightly and beautifully with so many issues children need to have a prompt for discussing including: dealing with bereavement; families amalgamating and accepting step siblings; living a full life and being the best you can be. I can see this being a great class novel or an absolutely brilliant book to read to your child at bedtime. It certainly kept me enthralled and I shall be recommending it to all 7-9 year olds I know.
Reviewed by Rachel Esling, teacher
***** The Reading Zone

Buy the book online and support your local bookshop at the same time

hive.co.uk
Back Home!

Opal Moonbaby and the Best Friend Project

Opal Moonbaby and the Out of this World Adventure

Opal Moonbaby and the Summer Secret

Milly and the Mermaids

The Cake, the Wolf and the Witch

Owen and the Onion

Novels:

BLOG

Back Home!

Milly and the Mermaids
Maudie Smith
the Cake, the Wolf and the Witch
All the King's Tights

All the King’s Tights

Bird Girl
NEW!

The Dressing Up Dad

The Dressing-Up DAD
COMING SOON!

Picture Books/Early Readers:

Opal Moonbaby and the BEST FRIEND PROJECT
Opal Moonbaby and the OUT OF THIS WORLD ADVENTURE
and the SUMMER SECRET
Owen and the Onion
Bird Girl